Acoustic Fingerstyle Arrangement Part 3 – Marees Wedding

Here is Part 3 of my Acoustic Fingerstyle Guitar Arrangements.  This is a tune called Maree’s Wedding (Marie’s Wedding), an old Irish tune with the words “Step we gaily on we go etc “.  

I’ve thrown it into the key of E so I’d be able to stay in normal tuning.   What I’ve also done is eliminate all the chords and just imply them, it is only a melody line and a very simple bass part.  When I studied with a guy called Don Andrews about 35 years ago, he would always create arrangements with one or two small things to push the skll level of the guitarist a little further, I have done the same here.  In this tune, I’ve written it in such a way that the player has to move around the fretboard just a little, this sort of adds a little bounce to the tune and forces the player to be foused. if everything was stuck at the same fret, the player is more inclined to go into automatic mode.

To view and or download the printable Acrobat reader version click here Marees_Wedding

EDIT//: Bar 9, 3rd beat move to fret 4

Marees Wedding

Marees Wedding

I’ve added a midi file, a compuer generated music file to give the listener an idea of the tune.  I realize that many players only read TAB, please add expression, personality and your own phrasing Marees Wedding

Click here for Part One of the Acoustic Guitar Arrangements 

3 Comments

Filed under Acoustic Guitar, learning guitar

3 responses to “Acoustic Fingerstyle Arrangement Part 3 – Marees Wedding

  1. Great arrangement, as usual. I’m really enjoying these charts, not just for myself, but also for some of my younger finger-style students. Keep em coming!

    MW

  2. Peter Farmer

    Hi Tony

    I’ve arrived at your blog while searching for info about Don Andrews, whom you mention in the above post. I have a faded photocopy of an arrangement of his of the standard, “Taking a Chance on Love”, followed by the beginning of “Over the Rainbow”. What I am trying to find is the whole book in which these arrangements were printed. Can you help? If you could send me an email with any such info (title, publisher, possible retail outlet, etc), I would really grateful. Many thanks in anticipation.
    Cheers
    Peter

Leave a Reply

