How to Get Back into Playing Guitar After You Forgot You Had One

 

Martin 000 Acoustic Guitar

Martin 000 Acoustic Guitar

Over the years I’ve noticed that a lot of guitar players start playing, then they hit points in their life where other things take over and music drops to the background, their guitar that they so passionately treasured just sits in the corner of a room to gather dust.  

I’ll side track a little. I discovered an easy way to get around this happening in the first place, it was something I arrived at due to teaching guitar to a lot of kids over the years.  I had always tried to get the parents to NOT call music practice HOMEWORK.  When people call music development ‘homework’, the kid suddenly sees music as a chore, or maybe even the ENEMY, instead of being the beautiful gift it is which they can carry through their life to express themselves.  So, the underlying thing here is about the thinking; if we can’t see the benefits and only see the work involved we lose sight of why we’re doing something in the first place. 

What I found with kids learning music was it was important to take time out from their music practice.  The ultimate goal, as I see it for a music teacher to do is to get the student to the point when they fall in love with music.  Once this happens it’s easy to teach, until then there’s often a bit of a pull in all directions.  What’s needed is to be able to get the student to be organised enough with their time, that they can comfortably do enough for their music skills to gradually increase and then become a natural part of their life.  

My understanding, which made me rethink a lot of things about playing was when one day, a kid asked me “Do I have to practice in the holidays?”.   My reply was “no, I think it’s good to take a break, this will help your return to music a little fresher, go swimming, ride your bike, fallout of a tree, eat ice cream, break a leg or something crazy, but you’re going to need to set a date to get back into some organised pattern again”.

I’m pretty sure, the reason why a lot of players leave the guitar in the corner and don’t return to it is because they don’t organise their time and don’t have the right resources and inspirational material close at hand, and then it all seems too much  

The best way to reenter music after time of is:

  • Set a return date and stick to it
  • Have plenty of resources around to inspire you
  • Clean the guitar and change the strings, even go a gauge lighter 
  • Play a few simple things to warm yourself up a but, if you try and play things that are a little complex you can end up frustrated 
  • Tell the world to go away, you’re busy because music is important to you

Tony Hogan

7 Comments

Filed under Acoustic Guitar, guitar tips

7 responses to “How to Get Back into Playing Guitar After You Forgot You Had One

  1. You’re damn right when you say that most of the people leave the guitar in the corner because they don’t organise their time… This is totally my case for several months… I just play randomly through time!!!

    Well first thing tomorrow… Try to set up an agenda or something like that

  2. Great stuff. I like your site too. When I get a bit more time I’ll have a good look, regards Tony

  3. Tell the world to go away, you’re busy because music is important to you.

    That’s probably the best advice. This should also include to tell the TV and the computer the same thing.

  4. @ Tony: Thanks man…

    @ Rock House Blog: you’re so right too… I spend way too much time on the computer…

    Man… How did I do to get everything so wrong?? 🙂

  5. Hello there, thanks for the nice advice! I really agree that “if we can’t see the benefits and only see the work involved we lose sight of why we’re doing something in the first place. ” Passion is the term and it applies to almost anything. In learning guitar you also need to have the right resources and ample amount of inspiration to encourage you to do more.

  6. Monty

    I made a living as a musician for over 13 years and then totally chage jobs and left it behind for over 25 years. Now I want to go back so I can at least play something when grandkids ask me to do so. Thanks for the advice.

  7. Zach

    might sound stupid, but if you can afford it, a new guitar can help. The excitement of the new guitar can help to hold your attention and practice more.

Leave a Reply

