McGowan Guitars Virginia

McGowan Guitar

McGowan Guitar

I LOVE BEAUTIFUL GUITARS

I’ve stated a number of times in this guitar blog site that what I’m trying to do is raise the standard of guitar playing by making available resources, inspirational videos of great players, guitar tips, tabs and music notation and whatever else I can to expand the beautiful artform of acoustic guitars.  Some weeks back at my other site someone at my other guitar blog site the Guitarplayer directed me to a Guitar Maker in Virginia.  I often get people asking me to promote their sites, their products, their music; in most cases I say no because the agenda is often very different to what I’m trying to achieve and I don’t wish to turn my site into a supermarket full of guitar track.  So when you are not running a website as a business but are more interested in having a resource to help acoustic guitar players, it’s easy to maintain quality because what I like, I publish and what I don’t I bypass. I’m always happy to see the development of all areas of guitar, so I followed through and checked out some of the instruments by brian at McGowan Guitars and was more than pleasantly surprised . I’ve always loved the idea of experimenting to get the perfect sound out of a guitar. I particularly like the use of a mix of tonewoods on the soundboard e.g. the usage of both Cedar and Spruce to get warmth and clarity.   that’s the beauty of the non production line guitars, the guys (and ladies, I’m thinking Linda Manzer) have the ability to experiment with the end goal being beautiful instruments. Brian is currently building three different body styles. – Grand Concert, Grand Auditorium, and Dreadnought . Standard nut width is 1 3/4”. The scale length on all models is 25 11/32”.   

A link to the McGowan Guitars

Matt Thomas playing a McGowan Guitar

1 Comment

Filed under Acoustic Guitar, Guitar Makers, youtube

One response to “McGowan Guitars Virginia

  1. Thank you for introducing McGowan Guitars to me. . . They are really beautiful.

Leave a Reply

