Keith Richards Youtube Video Satisfaction Blues

This Keith Richards Youtube video is very short but will be of great interest to a lot of guitar players because he does a simple disection of the song Satisfaction, as in I can’t get no Satisfaction, the tune that the Rolling Stones made very famous.  In this video he explains how it is really just a Blues. 

If you wish to see Keith (Keef) Richards playing an acoustic Blues in A, check it out,  it was in an article I wrote the other week, worth a look, in fact fascinating because you’ll get to see anothrer side of theStones Guitarist that you’ve never seen. Keith Richards Youtube

7 Comments

Filed under Acoustic Guitar, Blues Guitar

7 responses to “Keith Richards Youtube Video Satisfaction Blues

  1. screensailor

    Hi,

    Please join the Youtube Professional Network! You may find more information on my blog,

    Best regards,

    SCREENSAILOR

  2. Keef–possibly my favorite guitar player ever–really took the Chuck Berry “play his guitar like ringing a bell” ideal and brought it to life. Cool video. According to legend (and, yeah, it’s probably in a book somewhere, but I don’t read them books), he had the riff going through his head in a dream, woke up, picked up his guitar, recorded it on whatever kind of tape recorder they had back then, then went back to sleep. And, even when they recorded it, he thought the fuzzy sound was a “gimmick.” Is any of this true? I don’t know–I just remember reading or hearing it, and, at this point, my memory’s probably better than Keith’s.
    (This makes me visitor no: #701 for today).

  3. Dan

    It’s a neat video… but I’ve gotta take Keith to task here… it’s *blues-y* and uses the same three chords, but “Satisfaction” really isn’t a blues in the traditional sense. There’s no 12 (or 16, or 8…) bar form that really identifies something as a blues.

  4. acousticguitarist

    Dan, interesting.

    Have you heard Ali Farka Toure when he plays the roots music from Mali when he does stuff a bit like John Lee Hooker.

    I’ll put the questions, does it really need the same form, does it need 3 chords to be a blues?

    Tony

  5. Dan

    Whoops… late getting back here, sorry. I guess my point is that the musicians I know refer to a song as a “blues” as a means of being able to convey to each other (or to informed listeners) the basic form of a song – not necessarily the “feel” of the song. It doesn’t need to have three chords (a “blues” in jazz has many more chords), but in my mind it should stick to a general chord progression (with perhaps some variations).

    Imagine you were the one guitarist in the world who didn’t know how to play Satisfaction, and you were asked to play the song on a gig. If someone else in the band turned to you and said “it’s just a blues in E”, I think that’d hurt you more than it helped you.

    Sorry to geek out. I still love the song, and certainly love Keef…

  6. acousticguitarist

    Screensailor, Interesting but I couldn’t find the link

    tony

  7. Keef is one of my guitar idols and is without a doubt one of the greatest riff writers in history of Rn’R

Leave a Reply

