Olson Guitars Handmade and Beautiful

Many acoustic guitar players are only really familiar with the common production line and custom guitars from the major manufacturers, such as Gibson, Martin, Ibanez, Yamaha, Taylor, Takamine and more that have become house hold names.  But it’s worthwhile being aware of what others are out there.  So today I thought I’d write a short article to bring awareness to one of the other great guitarmakers out there.

Jim Olson has been making guitars since 1977, he has made guitars for James Taylor, Phil Keaggy, David Wilcox,  Graham Nash, Lou Reed, Al Petteway, Sting, Leo Kottke,  the list is much longer, but that will give you an idea of the standard of guitar we are talking about.  

Although great guitar players have natrural in built music within them, a good instrument makes a difference.  Currently I don’t own an Olson but it’s on my list of things to do at some point.

To go to Jim’s site go to Olson Guitars

Olson Handmade Guitar

Olson Handmade Guitar

I will be posting about different guitar makers on a regular basis that I like because it is important if you are a guitar player to have an awareness of what is happening in the guitar industry at a high level. 

Please note, this is not an ad. If you are a regular reader of my site, you would know that I love acoustic guitar.

To hear Phil Keaggy on an Olson check out this Phil Keaggy youtube

10 Comments

Filed under Acoustic Guitar, guitar blog

10 responses to “Olson Guitars Handmade and Beautiful

  1. eric

    you may want to add that he is one of the most humble men you’ll ever meet.

    I heard him speak at an ASIA symposium, he’s a brilliant guitar maker.

  2. Alex

    That is a beautiful guitar. Absolutly beautiful.

    I actually just started a blog in which I am testing and reviewing instruments and equipment, products and publications of all things music. I really like your blog, so keep it up. I like how you look at the lesser known luthiers, and so I probably will use you as a resource in the future.

    Peace, -Alex-

  3. acousticguitarist

    Thanks Alex

    Please supply the link of your site at some point so I can check it out. I’m interested in people that are doing blogs and sites that are unique and commited to music, not just the marketing ones that are by people that know very little and want a lot in return.

    My other blog is http://the-guitarplayer.com

    I’ve also just invented a new blues scale

    Tony

  4. Pingback: Jeff Traugott Guitar Maker « Acoustic Guitarist Blog

  5. Jen

    Yes, he is a very humble man. He’s actually married to my aunt…so maybe I’m a little baised. I’ve been through his shop many times and I still find the guitar making process very interesting.

  6. acousticguitarist

    Thanks for the feedback Jen

    Guitar making is the only thing that isany where near as inspiring as playing guitar.

    T

  7. acousticguitarist

    Alex

    thanks for the feedback

    I’m not going anywhere and will continue to maintain a high standard

    Tony

  8. acousticguitarist

    Eric

    Thanks. Wish I’d have been there

    Tony

  9. Thanks for sharing. There are definitely a lot of great guitars out there deserving of mentions. Bloggers like you are a great help to big and small manufacturers alike.

Leave a Reply

