Phil Keaggy Youtube – Acoustic Guitar

This youtube video of Phil Keaggy playing Acoustic Guitar is a very good example of a guitar player that is really thinking about texture.  Although it’s great to play spontaneously, when you take the time to consider simple things such as when to use a plectrum (pick) or when to drop it and play fingerstyle, you’ll ultimately end up with a result that suits the flavor of the tune.  Phil Keaggy is now one of the acoustic guitar players at the forefront of his craft, which equals playing beautiful guitar.  He’s a player worth exploring.

This video of Phil has him playing an Olson guitar (a notable guitar worth owning), the use of amplification is very good in this clip and doesn’t destroy the guitar’s sound, the amplification /processing adds a little depth to the recording.

He also is using a Schubb capo, my favourite because they don’t put the guitar totally out of tune if you kuse them right.  Personally I use my schubb upside down because I find it gives me better intonation.

This tune is called the Wind and the Wheat, a very sensitive tune, the type that is worthwhile learning for when you want to just sit around and play and get lost in your playing.

Quite frankly I find his playing exceptional and he’s a playing that is not going to go away.

For more brilliant fingerstyle guitar check out my other guitar site / blog over at
the guitar player featuring Pierre Bensusan 
The Home Page of the Guitar Player is the-guitarplayer.com
it also
has many youtube guitar videos and guitar Scales in TAB form as well as the music notation.

8 Comments

Filed under acoustic, Acoustic Guitar, youtube

8 responses to “Phil Keaggy Youtube – Acoustic Guitar

  1. drtombibey

    Hey there. time thief sent me over- nice site.

    I am a mandolinist, and a country doc. As far as I know, my site is the only physician bluegrass fiction writer’s weblog on wordpress. As you might gather it is mostly about fun, but it has it’s serious moments. Hope you’ll come visit.

    Dr. Tom Bibey

    drtombibey.wordpress.com

  2. Pingback: Phil Keaggy Youtube Video - Acoustic Guitarist « Acoustic Guitarist Blog

  3. acousticguitarist

    Hi Dr Tom, I will visit definitely. I like David Grisman’s music very much and also Darol Anger. I own a mandolin but it needs a little repair a nd havent played for a while, but I love the sound. Also the Mandocello is a very great combo with double bass and mandolin. I used to play a lot of the bluegrass tunes. I think my all time fav is Billy in the Lowgrounds.

    Tony

  4. acousticguitarist

    Hey DrTom

    You might like this

    Also I reembedded your address.
    Need the http etc in front

    http://drtombibey.wordpress.com

    Tony

  5. drtombibey

    Billy in the Lowground is a good’un. They say it is about where William the Conqueror is buried in England.

    Lobe the clips. I esp like Clarence White- he was a genuis. His brother Roland is a fine mandolin player- I’ve picked a few with him along the way.

    Dr. B

  6. We love Phil Keaggy, my son at 16 is a huge fan! Great to see this posted, not to long ago we ordered one of the early Glass Harp Videos, wow, that was so much of a throw back –

  7. acousticguitarist

    Susie

    He’s just great, the good thing is he is starting to get the recognition he deserves

    Tony

  8. acousticguitarist

    Dr Tom

    I love the tune Billy in the Lowgrounds. It’s incredibly melody regardless how long the melody is. Also another goody is Big Sciota

    Cheers T

Leave a Reply

