Where Do You Go To Youtube – Peter Sarstedt

Where do you go to my lovely when you’re alone in your bed by Peter Sarstedt  If you remember this song you’ll know why I’ve posted it.  I’ve decided to post a couple of nostalgic Youtubes, songs that stand up by themselves that buskers and solo acoustic guitar players and singers would perform. As a soloist it’s always a brilliant tune to throw in every now and then.  No, it’s not part of the Hippy Songs of the Seventies because  everyone could relate to it.  The story line is fantastic, very cutting I guess but very likeable. Note: this tune was from 1969.

There are a couple of videos going around, this one is a touch short but I think is more beautiful than another more recent one. 

At a guess that looks like an old Eko guitar.

Enjoy!

Also, here is the other version

You may also like this San Francisco

9 Comments

Filed under acoustic, Acoustic Guitar, MUSIC, youtube

9 responses to “Where Do You Go To Youtube – Peter Sarstedt

  1. Thanks for posting these Tony.

  2. I’d actually never hear of Peter Sarstedt. Then again, I was only seven years old at the time. Gotta go check out where he’s from. Seems to pronounce his words a bit too clearly for a native speaker, but I could be wrong.

  3. Kinda hard to say where he’s from, but I’m probably off base. More like his style. http://www.allmusic.com/cg/amg.dll?p=amg&sql=11:kxfqxqegldae~T1

  4. Cool video and song! I love these old songs and the words have such deep meaning that you really have to listen to take it all in.

  5. acousticguitarist

    Mark, he’s Indian born Wasn’t this a massive hit over there or was it just UK and Australia and NZ?

  6. acousticguitarist

    Thanks Cindy and Timethief

    You’ve heard this before I guess?

  7. wow…those blonde girls in the audience are really…not into it…still trying to remember the name of that movie with Jason Schwartzman and Luke Wilson’s brother in India where I heard this before…

  8. acousticguitarist

    drJay… they are not real

  9. acousticguitarist

    Mark

    I never really thought about it until you mentioned his accent. I’ve had that song in my head since 1969 and now that you’ve pointed it out, it does sound a little odd.

    T

Leave a Reply

