LaPatrie Classical Nylon String Guitars – Murwillumbah Music

The La Patrie nylon string guitars have become very popular lately, I’m not surprised either, value per dollar they are possible the best I’ve seen around.  

For those Australians that have been waiting a while to get their hands on one because of limited availability, I was in Murwillumbah Music (ph 0266-725404) today in the Northern Rivers, just south of Tweed Heads and the Gold Coast, and North of Byron Bay, I noticed a couple in there.  I’d get one for my son but he’s taken to one of my steel string acoustics, so he’s going to have to wait.

The La Patrie guitars are Canadian, I’m still trying to sort out why they are so cheap.  And no I can’t sell you one but regardless of that, it’s important for people to be aware of what is out there, and as the role of this guitar blog site is to upgrade the standard and bring an awareness, I ,thought it would be nice to post briefly about them.

La Patrie Nylon String Guitars

La Patrie Nylon String Guitars

17 Comments

Filed under acoustic, Acoustic Guitar, nylon string

17 responses to “LaPatrie Classical Nylon String Guitars – Murwillumbah Music

  1. How do they sound? I see that they have a solid cedar top but laminate sides and back. The laminate definitely helps with keeping costs down. No electronics either. It seems to me like they are tying to keep it simple.
    I’ve played some great guitars out of Canada that were a great bang for the buck. Seagulls (I have a s6) is one that comes to mind. I don’t know what keeps their overhead so low to make these.

  2. acousticguitarist

    Larry

    The ones I’ve got my hands on have been great. It’s probably the only classical guitar I’d buy unless I had the money for a handmade upmarket one. I don’t know how they keep their prices down.

    Warm and clear, laminate sides are fine, luthiers could argue for hours on this issue ( or any for that matter) . I wouldn’t hesitate to record with one. Obviously if you’re playing Carnegie Hall you might need to click up a few notches.

    T

  3. Thanks for the information. I’m looking into getting a new classical but haven’t found anything yet. Don’t want to fork out too much and this seems like a great option.
    Laminate sides and back are something that interests me as well because the guitar should be more tolerant of the dry climate that Colorado has.
    Thanks again,

    Larry

  4. Pingback: Murwillumbah Music « Tweed Valley and Byron Bay

  5. I’m looking seriously at the La Patries and am glad to here that the Aussies like ’em.

    By the way, they do come with optional electronics.

  6. acousticguitarist

    Yes Paul

    I love ’em and so do a number of very good guitar players I have met. I’m still bewildered how they can make a well crafted instrument for so little.

    Yes they also come with electronics, as a rule where possible I would always use a mike, but as you know it’s sometimes a mad idea

    Tony

  7. Shortly after my earlier reply I found someone in my area who was selling a La Patrie Concert CW with electronics for $290.00 US! Sounded too good to be true so I wrote him asking why the pice was so low. His reply was that it had been given to him as a gift and so there was no loss to him (he doesn’t play classical guitar). Still sounds a bit suspicious but I’ll look into it further.

  8. acousticguitarist

    Paul

    Well playing it is believing if the person lives nearby. On condition it’s structurally good, and the person is the genuine owner, what’s the prob?

    Bargains emerge every now and then, especially unwanted presents

    t

  9. I did a lot of research when i bought my classical guitar, and i decided to go with the La Patrie Etude. I bought it used for $200 off ebay…it sounds incredible. There is a scratch and a couple of small blemishes on it… one must be careful of this guitar because it is unfinished and scratches easily. But that’s what helps the guitar resonate with a nice warm sound. It even has an adjustment rod. One area they skimp on though is the tuners, they’re pretty basic…but the sound is king.

  10. Holly

    I am Canadian and I have owned a La Patrie for about 15 years. I must have gotten one of the earliest models. Mine looks exactly like the far right one in the photo above. The tag on the inside of mine says “handmade in La Patrie Quebec” Because of the solid top the sound now has mellowed and improved so much and it sounded really good when I got it. It has withstood the abuse (not keeping it as humidified as well as I should have) exceptionally well. It is in brand new condition truthfully. I really like the satin neck, I prefer it over the high gloss ones, I find my hand slides easily up and down the neck.

    Now for the things I don’t like. The tuners are not the greatest. But that is minor really and can be changed if I really want. However my chief beef, is that the pitch of the neck seems a tiny bit off. The action close to the nut is very good. But up around 10, 11, 12 it gets a bit high. Now I don’t know maybe someone here can educate me. Because the guitar does have a truss rod could that be adjusted and fix things up for me?

    I have actually considered replacing the guitar because of this, but whenever I go to the the music store and try some different guitars I am so disappointed with the sound that I just can’t part with it. The adjustment that would make me happy is very small. I know, maybe I am being too fussy.

    I do feel compelled to say that if you are considering one of these guitars. Please go ahead, don’t hesitate. It is a wonderful guitar and after seeing how popular they are even in Australia my love affair with mine has been renewed. As for the economy price. I thought it was cheaper because it was locally made. But that line of reasoning doesn’t follow all the way to Australia.

  11. acousticguitarist

    Holly

    That you for adding such good content to this blog site post based on your personal experience

    If it’s a a guitar that you like it’s really worth taking it to a “qualified” repairer/ luthier to check the status of the neck and see what the underlying problem is.

    Regards Tony

  12. I’ve had my Etude for nearly 10 years. Amazing sound, full, rich and smooth. No buzzing. I never had to get it adjusted. Bought it in Newmarket, Ontario. I tried the other models of the La Patrie, and my guitar of choice is the Etude. The top is very soft, so it dings very easily. I love the satin finish and there’s something special about the neck that fits my hand. The instrument has a way of slowing me down to play ad lib and let it create music while my fingers just do what they’re told. No other guitar I’ve owned has this much “spirit.” Even compared with a Larrivee C30 I owned for a couple of years. It’s great for starter musicians because it will keep up with your improving playing skills for quite a long while!

  13. JohnMc

    I am from the uk and I have just purchased the concert cutaway with electronics. I am going to pick it up tomorrow and am extremly excited to play!

    I have only read great reviews about these guitars and seem to be the perfect solution for me. I saw my first laPatrie guitar online today and 1hour later had bought one on the spur of the moment! I have never bought a guitar before. Have always just inherited random ones! I got it for £429 from an ebay store. I have be playing an old nylon string in a band setting and have really struggled with getting the required volume through the mic before it begins to feed back. The built in electronics will save me a lot of trouble!

    Thanks for all your comments, although I only just see now that they are from some time ago!

    JohnMc

    • John. Congratulations on your new purchase, hope you have many happy hours of beautiful music. The article is a few months old but the guitars are mjust as good. I saw a guy busking with one about b2 hours ago, he had it plugged into a nice little Roland amp, sounded great.

      Tony

  14. Wayne

    My understanding is that the Godin Guitar Company, parent company of La Patrie, owns a considerable number of wooded acres in Canada and cuts the wood used in their guitars from those acres. This represents a considerable savings in raw materials. The savings is passed to the customer in lower prices for finished guitars. If you look at the Godin website, you will note that there is little to no use of exotic woods in their products.

    I own a couple of their guitars, including an Etude, and encourage anyone to support the company.

    My first guitar was a Seagull Mini Jumbo and I will never get rid of it. It sounds good and is built like a tank.

    I do not work for Godin and have no financial interest in the company.

  15. traded a friend a Peavy212Special Amp for one of these today – I don’t play electric anymore, got more amps than I’ll ever use – he got it in trade from somebody else, knew I had a soft spot for nylon … I’ve not bought a new guitar in years, rarely in a guitar shop anymore, so I had never heard of these – a little internet surfin’ confirmed what I thought when I first picked on it – decently built, feels great, sounds just fine, but – like the poster above said, there is a “spirit” about this guitar … the cedar top is sweet – not as crazy about the laminate sides & back, but it looks “purty” and seems tough enough … the top IS sensitive – whoever had actually played on the thing before had a bad habit of scraping his pick on the face on the downstroke … (I ain’t used a pick in years – ever since I left them finger-shreddin’, thin necked, steel-stringed flattop Martins for the classics) … a few little dings on the face; obviously,
    more care than normal should be exercised … wouldn’t take much for the thing to start lookin’ like Willie Nelson’s Trigger …

    for tax purposes, we called the exchange even at $100 US, but the Peavy amp was obviously worth more, $300-$500 seemed to be range I had found on the net; my friend thought he’d value the Etude at $150US or so … but he just don’t know much about these kind of “majic” guitars … I’d value this one at maybe $250, but really, I think it’s going to end up being priceless to me … new strings and a little oiling on the wood, and it feels and sounds wonderful ….

    I’ve owned a bunch of guitars over the years, currently have two Martin six-strings, a Martin 12-string, an Ovation Balladeer, a Fender acoustic bass, and (now) 4 nylon classics; the fancy guitars sit sad and neglected now on their stands … my favorite and most played is a 1972 Alvarez 5011 I’ve had for over twenty years now … cheap (at the time) mid-level student guitar that over the years developed a feel, a sound, a “spirit”, that is obvious to anyone who touches it …. I’m thinking that in 2o years or so, this Etude may replace it …

Leave a Reply

