Guitar Blog

Guitar Blogs, the idea of a Guitar Blog for some people I have met seems a little unusual.  In fact any type of blogging seems crazy to some people.  So I thought Im’d write a small article on why on earth it is important to someone like myself.

Some people consider a Blog as strictly a diary that is in a digital form on the web, and yes that’s /a valid interpretation of a blog but it is only one vrsion of the blog ‘truth’.   I have reasonably high level web skills, because I teach web development for a living, so apart from being a user of web technology, I’m also a teacher of it.  I became interested in Blogs for one simple reason.  People and students that I had ,met were all wanting some sort of web presence, some sort of online place to show what they had.  As I was teaching web design at the time, it seems too complex a challenge for people with limited computer and web skills to put all the pieces together and create websites. Easy if you know how of course.  When I noticed wha was happening at Blogger/ Blogspot (now a Google baby inh the same way that youtube is) I decided it was easier to teach how to use an online Web Application than go through the ins and outs of web development, both the client side and what’s happening at the other end.

So here’s what convinced me about doing Guitar blogs:

The content can easily be updated on a regular basis without having to rebuild or add pages to a site.

It displays in a chronological order, newest content above the oldest.

I can add video, audo and images simply

There are multiple tools for doing specific tasks.

Minimal maintenance.

I can write any content I like and have it fit comfortably into the template.

So instead of writing about my dog, what i had for dinner, what’s the latest at the movies I write specific articles about guitars, acoustic,  blues, fingerstyle, how to play scales, I add youtubes, tips on how to be a better guitar layer.  So really when it comes down to it,’guitar blogs are the obvious solution to what I wish to do, which is, share the information that I have learnt over a 38 year period of plying guitar.  And I still love it as much as when I started 38 years ago when I was 14.

don’t underestimate the content in the articles, there are many here if you click back through the calender on the side bar.  And if you want to see my other very cool blog, go there as well.  The Guitar Player

6 Comments

Filed under acoustic, Acoustic Guitar, guitar blog

6 responses to “Guitar Blog

  1. Thoughtskoto

    thanks a lot for the kind comment over BC about our baby, and thanks for the tip for me to find my nano flash, hehe

    Anyway, i am adding you to our link.

    Thanks for dropping by our site also.

  2. Jon

    I had blog snobism, the amount of times I’ve heard people slagging of blogs then you find out they read Gizmodo or engadget every day and you point out that they are blogs and they look at you like you’re mad!

    Plus your blog has lots of cool tab examples, I think you’re doing a great job Tony!

  3. Plokmaster

    Nice post! Thanks for the info… Have a nice day!

  4. acousticguitarist

    Hey thanks Jon for dropping by.

    Yes I’ve been concentrating on a bit of TAB and dots for sometime, I’m glad you can see the value of them.

    And I still think your Blog is one of the best other Guitar blogs on the whole of the web

  5. acousticguitarist

    Plokmaster.

    If you’re going to visit and comment, please write relevant stuff and don’t just drop links. I’ll let you off this time

    T

  6. acousticguitarist

    ‘ThoughtsKoto
    Great to be of assistance.

Leave a Reply

