Rockabilly Blues Riff for Guitar in G

Blues Rockabilly Riff, I wrote this a few minutes ago.  I was thinking a little about Flatt and Scruggs the great Bluegrass players and I picked up the nearest guitar that I could find, which happened to be my semi-acoustic Ibanez 105N, pictured below.

Ibanez Artcore 105N

I was going to write a Bluegrass type of tune and the following came out instead, it’s sort of a rockabilly riff I guess, a litle like ‘Your Mamma Don’t Dance’ by Loggins and Messina.  It’s what I call a ‘Three Chord Wonder’, a tune with three chords only but a valid piece of music. 

You could play it slow, fast, Electric, Acoustic, Swing…whatever. So long as it is IN TIME.  Start slow and gradually get your speed up.  So many players are in a hurry to play fast, it’ll come.
Blues Rockabilly Riff in G for Guitar
To download the printable pdf file click the link g_blues_rock_riff

 

 

3 Comments

Filed under acoustic, Acoustic Guitar, bluegrass guitar, blues, Blues Guitar, Guitar Riffs, learning guitar

3 responses to “Rockabilly Blues Riff for Guitar in G

  1. Derek

    Thanks for the riff. I like your site, but I think it would look better with a logo or something. I’m a graphic designer. If you are interested, let me know. Thanks

    • acousticguitarist

      Thanks

      Also re-logo

      Thanks for the suggestion, I’m not particularly interested in designer logos for this site as it is a blog My logo is designed to accurately define what my site is about and the concept is coming from a very different mindset. It’s optimised to do exactly what I want it to do and say.

      My other sites http://the-acoustic-guitar.com http://the-guitarplayers.net

      http://the-guitarplayer.com all have simple logos.

      My wife is a graphic designer and if I ever need a logo I’ll use her. I would like to see your work.

      Regards Tony

  2. sheep

    Nice riff, im a Rockabilly & Country fan born n bred, and been trying to play now for 12yrs on and off, the parkinsons makes it hard if not nearly impossible….but yer right slow and getting timing is the key mistake all newcomers make….

    I will defo check back again….thnx

Leave a Reply

