Harry Manx Blues and Indian guitar

For years now I’ve been a lover of both Indian music and the blues.  Due to my studies with the Sarod player Ashok Roy I have played quite a few instrumentals in open tuning, I used to use the tuning B, F# , B , F#, B and E  working from the Bass up, the bottom end of the guitar was tuned quite low.  I found it very interesting playing in this tuning.  My teacher used to sing the parts to me, I’d sing them back, then I’d transcribe it in the Indian notation and then play it back. 

I first heard of Harry Manx a few years ago when he toured my local area.  What I like about he is he has bridged the gap between Western and Indian music quite well.  he plays the Mohan Vina, an instrument played by the musician Pandit Vishwa Mohan Bhatt.  The vina is a traditional Indian instrument in a similar vain to the sitar.  I feel it is important to see what some of the musicians are doing that are playing a little outside the norm because when we hear new things they can create new possiblilities for other players.  I’ve linked to two youtube videos of Harry Manx the Canadian player, one is blues slide and the other a mix of Indian and blues.

Can’t be Satisfied

How comfortable does he look playing?

The aim of this blog site is to inspire guitar players.

 

1 Comment

Filed under acoustic, Acoustic Guitar, acousticguitar, MUSIC, open tuning, World Music

One response to “Harry Manx Blues and Indian guitar

  1. rainclimber

    Awesome!!!! Never heard of this guy …..fantastic…..haven’t heard anything this inspiring in a long time. Is the b tuning mentioned above the one he uses? I Will get down to learn myself this style straight away…..

Leave a Reply

