More Than Just A Guitarist

When we are young musicians we often have our sites set on bright lights, touring, albums and all the other hoohaa that happens in the music industry.  But as we mature as musicians we start to see the other sides of music, the joy of playing, the challenge of playing different styles and the various other places where music is used in the world around us.  E.g. Commercially, in the Arts, short films and these days in multimedia projects. We don’t have to look too hard to find an application/use for music.

A few years ago I worked on a project, it ended up I had one evening to compose, record, edit and complete one such piece of music.  As I own the copyright on the piece I have decided to post the piece of music here.

Basically I am a guitarist foremost but like many musicians these days it is possible to use technology to create and complete a whole project in a small studio environment.  On the recording I played all parts, excluding the use of a drum machine, and I wil state I am not a keyboard player but my knowledge of chords through studying music, enables me to play what is required to have a complete piece of music.

Like most musicians I recorded the drum track first and built the song from there.  it was followed by the guitar part which is reasonably minimalistic.  Throughout the piece I double the guitar part with a harmony on keyboard to fatten up the sound of the guitar.  

As I play multiple styles of music, it has enabled me to work on some fascinating projects over the years.  No flashing lights and big PA’s here,  just a love of music and a challenge to meet an outcome.  It was commissioned for a small Arts film.

 It is very laid back and sort of chilly.  It’s called Walk Ins

 To hear it click on the link, it’s about 4 MB. http://www.the-acoustic-guitar.com/downloads/walk_ins.mp3

3 Comments

Filed under acoustic, Acoustic Guitar, acousticguitar, art, MUSIC

3 responses to “More Than Just A Guitarist

  1. Nice song! Is there a Tabla (percussion)?

  2. acousticguitarist

    Thanks machinehuman

    It’s a sample of a tabla. I used a Roland/Boss Dr 770 drum machine. The 770 has some great samples, it’s a tiny machine with a big sound.

  3. Tony,

    Thanks for that! It’s an awesome piece – I have much appreciation for your talent, spirit and individuality, all of which come through in your music.
    This is so laid back and pleasant actually. Personally, I didnt find it to be “chilly, though I can feel some “aloneness”.

    Thanks again for sharing!
    kab

Leave a Reply

