Solo Acoustic Guitar Playing – Dropped D Blues Folk Jazz

Playing solo guitar is not only one of the most enjoyable ways of playing the guitar but as anyone that has played guitar for a while would know, it is probably the most demanding.  The reason being is that there is nowhere to hide.  The guitar player needs to play something that holds together from the beginning to the end, keeps the interest of the listener, stays in time and needs to manage to play a combination of moving parts such as chords, melodies and counter melodies similtaneously.  The classical guitarists manage to do this quite well and now have a massive repertoire of material to choose from.  But most others need to make it up themselves or create arrangements of songs.

In 1983 I was living in the hills and listening to a lot of acoustic instrumental guitarists and I wrote a number of songs.  At that time I was experimenting a lot with open-tuned guitars.   One tune I wrote was with a simple Dropped bottom D, the Bass E string tuned down a whole tone. A few years ago I decided to do I recording of the tune.  The original idea was to have a second guitar part improvising over the mid section  But I felt because this guitar blog/site is about guitar education I’d upload the song without the over dub, warts and all. 

The tune is a very reflective piece, I’d been travelling around Asia for quite some time and needed to settle in a place where there was a lot of trees e.g. forrest, a stream and plenty of clean air. I played it on a guitar I built myself and it was recorded direct via a Dana Bourgeous internal pickup system. 

 Here is the link to it http://www.the-acoustic-guitar.com/downloads/dropped_D_folk_jazz_blues.mp3

It’s an MP3 file almost 4 MB. You’ll need a reasonably fast Internet connection to download it quickly.

2 Comments

Filed under acoustic, Acoustic Guitar, acousticguitar, learning guitar, MUSIC, open tuning

2 responses to “Solo Acoustic Guitar Playing – Dropped D Blues Folk Jazz

  1. Indeed, soloing is the most demanding part of guitar playing but it is so rewarding, the possibilities are endless, you can always learn new things and evolve to a better guitar player.

  2. i ve just started playing classical guitar less than 1 year ago. but i still find myself difficult to read notes. and i also have problems with my finger’s coordination and my left hand fingers couldnt press the strings correclty which leads to squeaky sounds.

    my guitar teacher asked me to join guitar festival this coming 29 April and he gave me Marie Luisa. Because of those problems stated above, I feel so much tense, stress and couldnt enjoy playing.

Leave a Reply

